maloka 3
lake 1maloka copyrooms adjustedDining Room adjusted

Caya Shobo Ayahuasca Healing Center

40 reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Listed in Ayahuasca, Integration

Min. Cost: 150
Max. Cost: 255
Contact Listing Owner

Contact the Listing Owner

To inquire about this listing, complete the form below to send a message to the listing owner.

Caya Shobo is a leading Ayahuasca healing centre nestled in a gentle jungle rainforest setting, just 45mins drive from the historic Amazonian city of Iquitos, Peru.

We welcome visitors of all ages and backgrounds who wish to experience the profound healing benefits of Ayahuasca and journey into an awakening of spiritual consciousness in the safety and care of highly experienced practitioners and the peaceful, secure environs of Caya Shobo.

Caya Shobo closely follows the Shipibo tradition of healing. We work only with genuine Shipibo maestras and maestros who hold high knowledge of their ancestral traditions – in particular Master Plant Dieta healing. Caya Shobo is the only Ayahuasca Healing Centre in the world to have received endorsement from Coshikox – the Shipibo Konibo Xetebo Tribal Council – as to the authenticity of our medicine offering in accordance with the true Shipibo traditions.

Caya Shobo has received thousands of western visitors since its facilities first opened 4 years ago and our healers have achieved profound results in treating numerous modern illnesses including depression, post traumatic stress disorder, certain cancers, and many other physical, mental and emotional ailments affecting the world’s population today. ​

Caya Shobo offers a variety of Ayahuasca retreats and package stay options for guests to receive healing services throughout the year. Our prices include Ayahuasca ceremonies, plant treatments, accommodation, meals, airport transfers, laundry service and wi-fi.

Standard rooms are shared double rooms – with own private bathroom (each guest has their own double bed). Rooms are simple adobe/concrete structures which allow airflow and coolness in the jungle heat, while providing protection from the elements, and are situated close to attractive ponds, gardens and common areas.

Private tambos are isolated huts situated deeper in the jungle, with no private bathroom but the feeling of being completely alone in the jungle.


40 reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Showing only 2-star reviews, click here to view all reviews.


February 8, 2018

It is with a heavy heart that I must write this review of Caya Shobo. I communicated with three of the four owners of this retreat and I believe that what transpired was mostly a result of them being a new center rather than maleficence. I truly wish to see Caya Shobo improve so that they can better accommodate the sick people who might seek their help. Still, I must state that rather than having the symptoms of my illness treated they were instead exploited for profit. I will explain this in greater detail later in my review. Let me start at the beginning.

My first issue was that I was left at the airport for an hour despite the center knowing when I would be arriving. It is pretty uncomfortable to be minority(in Peru AKA white) tourist with your belongings in a country you don’t know and no phone service or internet to contact anyone. What if I get into the wrong taxi and they take me somewhere and rob me of my belongings? These are some of the concerns that were passing though my mind at the moment, albeit exaggerated but when you are in a new place you cannot help but be precautious.

This was understandable still, issues may have popped up which was actually what happened verified by other sources and that would have been fine but upon arriving to the center I needed a SIM card so that I could communicate with loved ones and be connected to the internet as well. So, a plan was set up that I would go by Motokart to the city and get the SIM card and come back whenever. Phone number to Kati was provided. When I arrived to the phone store, I found out that I needed to have my passport with me. This was NOT communicated to me, as Kati asserted upon my return. I literally had my passport in my hand thinking about whether or not I needed it and decided to leave it at the center so that it would not get lost. Again, this is understandable perhaps she forgot this detail, was stressed, whatever have it, she is human like the rest of us, but this was not the end of it. The plan was that the driver would stay until I had the card so that if anything went wrong I would still be in contact with the center. This did not happen. Furthermore, the phone number I was provided was getting busy signals or no answer so I was stuck in a city where no one spoke my language.

Eventually, I found my way to Dawn on the Amazon where all the Western tourists meet and was able to organize a ride back to the center to speak with Kati. Upon returning and relaying what transpired I was laughed at. I told them that it was nothing to laugh about and that this was a serious problem and they basically blamed me saying that they told me I needed the passport, that the driver had other things to do, etc etc. No apology or anything. As you could imagine, this made me very uncomfortable. They asked why I had come to the center but after what transpired I felt that I could not open up to them. I went to the maloca to think and try to wifi call loved ones and figure out my next move and I was approached for the remaining balance of my account with Caya Shobo. At this point, I was very overtired and had been profusely sweating for hours and decided to go to a hotel(with AC) get some rest and decide on my next move in the morning.

I returned to Caya Shobo and took part in one ceremony, to which I experienced little effects. I must mention here that I myself have particularly high tolerance in regards to psychedelic medicines. I am what Shulgin refers to as a “hardhead”. Upon my second ceremony on Monday, I was asked again for the remaining balance. I asked that they keep my $305 and allow me to just partake in the ceremonies while staying at the hotel, effectively paying only for services rendered and then some for the inconvenience. I was told that this is not how they do things, and that leaving the center was my choice and that I booked the trip and that it was my obligation to pay. Rather than them understand that I was already in a lot of emotional pain and unable to endure the discomfort of profusely sweating for 12+ hours of the day, they were more concerned with securing the full payment that I agreed to. I expected this kind of behavior from the Holiday Inn I stayed at in Lima on the way. I did NOT expect this kind of treatment from an ayahuasca treatment center. Disorganization is a symptom of the illness I came to the center to treat(ADHD), and rather than them treating it, it was instead exploited for profit. I eventually talked with Beccy and she refunded me $100 but I was not allowed to take part in anymore ceremonies. I effectively paid $205 for one ceremony and couple pancakes. I am out 2k USD for my plane tickets and even more behind on work.

Response from Caya Shobo Ayahuasca Healing Center on February 9, 2018

We are sorry to hear of your disappointing first visit to the Amazon. While we are obviously unable to control the heat and physical discomfort of the jungle, we do extend our apologies for being late to collect you from the airport – this was an administrative oversight and we regret the stress it caused you. We were happy to have been able to pick you up without too much delay.

In response to your comments about difficulties obtaining a SIM card, it is clear that there was some misunderstanding about your required documents for this. And certainly it is not our intention to make light of your stress in the situation. We did explain to you that we have standard Wi-fi available at Caya Shobo with which you can connect with loved ones, and while we were happy to help facilitate your choice to immediately go to town and purchase your own high velocity card (by finding you an independent driver), we also are not able to control all aspects of our guests’ personal excursions outside the centre. We are better able to help when guests are willing to wait to visit town when our own driver and support staff are available to go with them and help with translation and local knowledge, as we understand that travelling in an unfamiliar country is often stressful and challenging.

Finally, regarding our fee for your short stay at the centre, we are frankly surprised and saddened to hear your comments and we respectfully disagree with your assessment of the final outcome. In our final conversation before you left Caya Shobo, you expressed calmly and clearly that you felt we had reached a fair outcome, which we also believe to be true.

Yes we are a healing centre, and unlike profit-motivated facilities, we apply significant energy and effort to help our guests achieve genuine transformative healing and spiritual learning during their stay. For that we are very serious in the discipline we apply to following the Shipibo medicine healing tradition, and in the level of care and attention we provide to our guests who come to receive healing. We also encourage guests to stay in the quiet environment of the centre, away from the stimulation and stress of the city, which can be disruptive to the healing process, especially required for more serious or long-standing conditions such as ADHD.

As well as being a healing centre, we are also a non-profit accommodations facility. As such we must plan in advance resources such as food, materials and staffing to support our guests’ stays. Also when a spot is reserved for one guest this often means others are turned away due to lack of availability.

For these reasons, as was detailed in your registration email, full payment for your entire reserved stay is due and payable 1 month before your arrival. In some cases we offer a partial refund if cancellation is made with at least 2 weeks advance notice, or in extenuating circumstances, or when we feel that Caya Shobo is not a good fit for the expectations and intentions of a guest.

In your case you booked your stay with a 50% deposit less than 2 weeks before your arrival, and upon your arrival you refused to settle your account due to your physical discomfort in the jungle and your desire for high speed wi-fi in town, and you expressed your preference to come to Caya Shobo only for ceremony “visits” while you stayed in an air-conditioned hotel in town. You also wanted to find speakers to play your music, which we explained was not appropriate for the quiet healing environment we intentionally create at the centre. At this point, we felt clear that this was not a good fit – your wishes for stimulation and a healing process without discomfort, were clearly at odds with the deeply immersive medicine treatment that we specialize in providing.

We therefore proposed that we refund your entire 5 day reserved stay and help you find a hotel where you could explore other options for your time in Peru. You declined, instead asking us to hold your spot, which we did for 3 days, with the clear understanding that this would be in agreement with our terms of reservation – i.e. that no discount or refund for held nights would be given even if you chose to stay in town, or later chose to cancel the rest of your stay. When you returned on the 4th day we again asked you to settle the remainder of your account for the extra 2 nights of your stay. Again you refused, and insisted that you wanted to stay in ceremony but not pay our price, even though we had patiently and clearly explained that these were not our terms of reservation and not consistent with our offering.

Therefore, we felt no choice but to cancel the rest of your stay and write off the remainder of your account, and we went even further – in compassionate consideration of how challenging your first experience of the jungle was for you, we actually gave you $100 cash in hand, effectively refunding 39% of the fee for your first 3 nights and forgiving in total 66% of your original commitment. Further, we kindly gave you some recommendations of other centres we thought might be more suited to the sort of drop-in experience you were seeking. You expressed peaceful agreement with this decision as being fair and reasonable. 

Regarding your ‘out of pocket’ travel expenses, we are not able to assume responsibility for losses that could have been avoided or mitigated with more extensive research and planning before booking your travel – to better appreciate the intensive nature of a jungle healing experience, and the longer-term, slower-paced nature of plant medicine healing as is provided at Caya Shobo Healing Centre. It is generally known that the process of healing with Ayahuasca and especially the Shipibo medicine tradition can be uncomfortable, and requires much commitment and patience.

We are genuinely sorry that it was such a challenging experience for you coming to the jungle, and we wish you the best in your search for suitable help for your condition. We are sorry that we were not able to provide that to you at this time.

Add Your Review

Please login or register to add your review.

Copyright © 2020 | Privacy Policy | Contact Us